Science Advisory Body 

The Science Advisory Body (SAB) is a committee that evaluates the scientific integrity of all research proposals submitted to Swine Innovation. Members of the SAB are recognized professionals who are well-known in their fields and they represent a diverse range of expertise within swine research. This committee reviews research proposals, offers scientific expertise, gives technical advice and ultimately provides the Board of Directors with their recommendations.

The following individuals are the current members of the Science Advisory Body:

Andrew Van Kessel
SAB Chair
Professor & Department Head
University of Saskatchewan
Patrick Charagu
Senior Geneticist

Neil Ferguson 
Swine Nutrition Research Manager 
Nutreco Canada

Sylvain Fournaise
Vice President, Food Safety & Technical Services

Alain Giguère
Acting RDT Director
Agriculture and Agri-food Canada, Sherbrooke & Quebec Research & Development Centres

Dan Hurnik
Chair, Professor, Swine Health Management
Atlantic Veterinary College, University of PEI

Nathalie Trottier 
Michigan State University